top of page
sylvania schools
Sylvania Schools 2021 Educators of the Year
Simply sylvania Ohio news

Sylvania Schools proudly announces the 2021 Educators of the Year.

autumn 2021 sylvania news cover photo_edited.jpg

Educator of the Year - Cathy Korn, Highland Elementary, Kindergarten

Teacher of the Year - Lynn Breen, SALA K-2

Teacher of the Year - Megan Fitzpatrick, Southview High School, Timberstone JH, Orchestra

Teacher of the Year - Heather Tussing, Northview High School, Math

Support Staff of the Year - Tracy Miller, Bus Driver

Support Staff of the Year - Kelly Sexton, Hill View Elementary, Custodian

Administrator of the Year - Bob Verhelst, Director of Student Services

These dedicated honorees consistently inspire students and positively impact our district. Nominations were accepted in the spring.


The nominees of teachers, administrators, and classified staff were announced at the end of May.  The awards were given on Friday, August 13 at the annual staff Opening Day meeting.


Educator of the Year Cathy Korn will be nominated by the district for Ohio Teacher of the Year. 

excertp perrysburg 1882
border battle 2021
EOY announcement
Sylvania EOY apple

The Sylvania Schools tradition of "Educator of the Year" awards began in 1984.  Award winners receive a glass apple and recognition from the Board of Education.

bottom of page